Deadpool

Standard

I have to confess that I went into this knowing that I wouldn’t like it. The fact that I liked it even less than I thought I would says a lot. It’s just awful! I think Ryan Reynolds is a better actor than he makes out, but he just chooses awful films with the same awful unwitty childish jokes. I  have not really forgiven him for ruining the Blade Trinity, again playing an awful supposedly funny part.

The basic premise of the film is that the main character is diagnosed with terminal cancer. He is offered a way to cure the cancer and become a super hero. It all goes a little bit wrong and so he seeks revenge. Part of the process has caused him to become disfigured and so he feels he can’t go back to his girlfriend until he has found a cure.

Deadpool is a really awful person and there are no character traits that reveal any sort of positive characteristic before or after becoming the anti-hero. We have a brief serious moment when he is diagnosed with cancer, but that doesn’t last too long unfortunately.There is no depth to this character at all, which is a shame because this could have been a good film. This is the second anti-hero type film I have seen and in my opinion Hancock is far superior.

There are many lines making jokes about the X-Men film which fall like a bag of cement. If you like crass human then this is a film you will love because it comes by the bucket load. There are two X-Men in this which are extremely annoying and not particularly interesting so even the X-Men aspect can’t save this film.

I could go on and on about every aspect I didn’t like, but the film isn’t worth the time. I know as usual I’m in the minority about this one as most people rave about it. It’s just not my cup of tea!

image

4/10

One thought on “Deadpool

Leave a Reply

