The Baftas

Standard

THE BAFTAS

Best film
12 Years a Slave- winner
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Gravity
Philomena

Outstanding British film
Gravity-winner
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Philomena
Rush
Saving Mr Banks

The Selfish Giant

Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)- winner
Christian Bale (American Hustle)
Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street)
Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)

Actress
Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)-winner
Amy Adams (American Hustle)
Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
Judi Dench (Philomena)
Emma Thompson (Saving Mr Banks)

Supporting actor
Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)- winner
Daniel Bruhl (Rush)
Bradley Cooper (American Hustle)
Matt Damon (Behind the Candelabra)
Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)

Supporting actress
Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)- winner
Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)

Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)

Oprah Winfrey (The Butler)

Director
Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)-winner
Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips)
Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
David O Russell (American Hustle)
Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

Adapted screenplay
Philomena-winner
12 Years a Slave
Behind the Candelabra
Captain Phillips
The Wolf of Wall Street

Animated film
Frozen-winner
Despicable Me 2
Monsters University

Documentary
The Act of Killing-winner
The Armstrong Lie
Blackfish
Tim’s Vermeer
We Steal Secrets

Foreign film
The Great Beauty-winner
The Act of Killing
Blue is the Warmest Colour
Metro Manila
Wadjda

Cinematography
Gravity-winner
12 Years a Slave
Captain Phillips
Inside Llewyn Davis
Nebraska

Costume design
The Great Gatsby-winner
American Hustle
Behind the Candelabra
The Invisible Woman
Saving Mr Banks

Editing
Rush-winner
12 Years a Slave
Captain Phillips
Gravity
The Wolf of Wall Street

Make-up and hair
American Hustle-winner
Behind the Candelabra
The Butler
The Great Gatsby
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Music
Gravity-winner
12 Years a Slave
The Book Thief
Captain Phillips

Saving Mr Banks

Sound
Gravity-winner
All is Lost
Captain Phillips
Inside Llewyn Davis
Rush

Visual effects
Gravity-winner
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
Pacific Rim
Star Trek Into Darkness

It was a great night at the Baftas and I must confess that I quite often look forward to these awards more than the Oscars. Stephen Fry was once again on top form with his light hearted banter, but still sincere love of film and its subject. This year in particular needed sincerity due to the powerful messages brought together by the film’s nominated. I was disappointed and surprised by Gravity’ s dominance and hope this is not the same at the Oscars. The fact that it won best British film was quite mystifying! I know the film qualified, but surely there were pure British films that could have been nominated? Maybe this shows the weakness of the British film industry? I would have placed About Time in that category. I have never hidden the fact that I wasn’t a fan of Gravity and believe that it only gets near an award because of the visual display rather than its content. This probably increases my disappointment.
Film Review Gravity
In my opinion 12 years a slave should have stolen the show winning best actor, best supporting actress, best film, best director and best cinematography. I was disappointed that it didn’t, but absolutely mortified that Lupita did not win best supporting actress. Her performance in 12 years a slave was absolutely outstanding, especially for a young actress. I am a big fan of Jennifer Lawrence, but on this occasion I think the judges got it horribly wrong. This sort of clouded over a great awards ceremony with some of the best films seen for a long time. I was extremely happy that 12 years took the best film and deservedly so and that Chiwetel Ejiofor took best actor, especially as I think he may come a close second at the Oscars. I think Matthew McConaughey will take the Oscar. He was not nominated for a bafta nor was Dallas Buyers Club, which was no doubt due to its late release in Britain, otherwise I think Matthew would have a Bafta too. Gravity is a visual feast, but I think the cinematography on 12 years a slave is beautiful, thought provoking and at some points makes you feel uncomfortable as it lingers on some of the vile acts taking place. I have never experienced this watching a film before.

Gravity should definitely not have gone home empty handed and i think it’s visual art was absolutely stunning and for this it should receive every credit. I always think that visual effects add to a film, but do not make it. If the visual effects are taken away and you are left with an uninteresting script then what’s the point? This being said Sandra Bullock gives a good performance although as I have said before, not on a par with Tom Hanks in Castaway. Gravity also took awards for sound and music another contentious decision I believe in regard to the music award. I absolutely loved the soundtrack for The Great Gatsby and have the CD at home. I love how Baz Lurhman mixed modern day rnb with 20’s jazz and Charleston. I think he is a real artist when it comes to the music for his films, Romeo and Juliet and Moulin Rouge other great examples of his musical imagination. The Great Gatsby should have taken this award.

The best supporting actor award went to Barkhad Abdhi, which is an amazing story in itself. If he can craft out a career then maybe we will see a film about his life in years to come. What i loved the most was the Joy on Tom Hanks’ face as he heard his co-stars name being read out. It was clear that Tom Hanks had provided a lot of support and encouragement to the inexperienced actor, which gave him the confidence to perform so well. I think the Oscar will be out of reach, but this is still a remarkable rags to riches story.
Cate Blanchett won best actress and rightly so. I enjoyed her performance in Blue Jasmine although the film wasn’t my favourite. She really did take hold of you and suck you into her emotional breakdown. I felt sorrow and pity for someone who had lived this fairy tale for so long and had lost it all. The whole whole cast performed their roles brilliantly with great depth, portraying their every weakness and pitfall. I loved the performances although the storyline wasn’t the most imaginative, but I believe the aim of the film was to gain a close relationship with each character and share their story.

This year has been amazing for film and I believe most categories could be extended to really show how good a year it has been, but then we could quite easily reach into the 20’s, making for a very long night. My favourite films have been American Hustle, 12 years a slave, Trance, The Great Gatsby, The Butler, August:Osage County, About Time, Prisoners and I am still looking forward to Her and Dallas Buyers Club. I do not believe that this year’s Baftas are a clue to the Oscar winners. I believe the Oscars will put right the wrongs the Baftas created, at least I hope they will.

5 thoughts on “The Baftas

  1. I agree with much of this. I didn’t watch the BAFTAs this year, but I was extremely upset to find the Jennifer Lawrence had won. Surprised and enraged. As for the Oscars, Gravity is almost definitely going to do as well there as at the BAFTAs and the rest of the awards season. I will be shocked if it doesn’t take the most Oscars of the night. That being said, I will be shocked (and disappointed) if 12 Years doesn’t take best picture. The Oscars are much more political than they should be, and that inevitably leads to disappointing wins. But someone good usually happens, so I have hope. It’s been such a great year I don’t see how they can mess this one up.

Leave a Reply

